4 ALBERT EMBANKMENT LONDON SE1 7SR

Telephone: +44 (0)20 7735 7611 Fax: +44 (0)20 7587 3210

Circular Letter No.3663 5 July 2016

To: All Member States and Member Governments

Subject: Shortlisted institutes/consortia for the International Maritime

Organization-European Union Project on Capacity Building for Climate

Change Mitigation in the Maritime Shipping Sector

Following its call for Expressions of Interest on 15 April 2016, the IMO-European Union Project on Capacity Building for Climate Change Mitigation in the Maritime Shipping Sector had received by its deadline of 17.30 p.m. BST on 15 May 2016, 43 Expressions of Interest, of which 14 have been shortlisted. A list of the shortlisted institutes/consortia and the countries in which they are situated is attached in the annex to this Circular Letter.



ANNEX

LIST OF SHORTLISTED INSTITUTES/CONSORTIA

1.	Dalian Maritime University (DMU)	China
2.	Shanghai Maritime University (SMU)	China
3.	Pacific University, Ecuador (UPACIFICO: Universidad del Pacifico); and National Office for Aquatic Environments (DIRNEA: Dirección Nacional de los Espacios Acuáticos)	Ecuador
4.	Pacific Community (SPC); the Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment Programme (SPREP)	Fiji
5.	The Pacific Island Development Forum (PIDF); the Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI); the University of the South Pacific (USP)	Fiji / The Marshall Islands
6.	Regional Maritime University, Accra	Ghana
7.	Caribbean Maritime Institute (CMI); Port Management Association of the Caribbean (PMAC)	Jamaica
8.	Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT); Kenya Maritime Authority (KMA)	Kenya
9.	Malaysian Maritime Academy Sdn. Bhd. (ALAM)	Malaysia
10.	African Maritime Technology Co-operation Center for Environment ("AMTCCE®") (comprising: Walvis Bay Corridor Group (WBCG) (lead); Ministry of Works and Transport, Directorate of Maritime Affairs (DMA); Ministry of Environment and Tourism; Namibian Port Authority (NAMPORT); Namibian Maritime and Fisheries Institute (NAMFI); Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST) (all in Namibia); as well as Satakunta University of Applied Sciences (SAMK), Finland; Strathclyde University, (SU), UK; Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya (UPC), Spain; Spinaker d.o.o, (SPIN), Slovenia	Namibia
11.	Universidad Marítima Internacional de Panamá (International Maritime University of Panama)	Panama
12.	Maritime Academy of Asia and the Pacific	The Philippines
13.	National Department of Transport (NDoT); South African Maritime Safety Authority (SAMSA); South African International Maritime Institute (SAIMI)	South Africa
14.	The University of Trinidad and Tobago	Trinidad and Tobago