On Austria's country/sector concentrations: In the last couple of years Austria has started a comprehensive phasing out process in a number of countries. Austria has already withdrawn from so-called partner countries and where possible has integrated them in a regional approach, among them:

Latin America: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala Eastern Africa: Rwanda, Burundi, Tansania, Kenya Southern Africa: South Africa, Namibia, Simbabwe Asia: Vietnam, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Nepal Europe: Bulgaria, Romania, Croatia

Only recently Austria has started the phasing-out process in Senegal, where the field office is already closed, as well as in the focal countries Cap Verde, Montenegro and Macedonia, where field offices will be closed in June 2010.

On sector concentrations: Austria respects principle 1 of the EU Code of Conduct on Complementarity and DoL (Guiding Principle 1 – Concentrate on a limited number of sectors in-country). Basically in all new country strategies, Austria focusses on 2 or on a maximum of 3 sectors. Austria puts emphasis on a responsible phasing-out from previously agreed sectors.