UK Department for International Development (DFID) Concentration Plans April 2010

Important note: As the UK is now in a pre-election period, DFID cannot comment on future policies or priorities. This note sets out <u>existing</u> policy and plans of the current Government.

Increasing the concentration of our aid programme is an issue that DFID has consistently prioritised: DFID has closed offices and/or programmes in 35 countries since 2002 (see Annex 1) and in a 36th (Niger) DFID's remaining programme is delegated to France. Around 90% of our country expenditure is now in 23 countries (see Annex 2). Plans to close in a further 4 countries in 2011 have already been announced:

- Serbia
- Bosnia & Herzegovina
- Moldova
- Cambodia

Since 1997 we have cut the number of countries we give aid to by over a third, and in the three years to 2010 will have closed nine offices. This allows our staff and aid budget to focus on where they add most value.

UK bilateral aid allocations are currently guided by three principles: levels of income per person (the poorer the country the higher the aid); population size; and confidence on whether the aid resources will be used effectively (based on assessments of country policy and institutional performance).

Annex 1: list of 35 countries

- 1. Albania
- 2. Armenia
- 3. Azerbaijan
- 4. Belorussia
- 5. Bulgaria
- 6. Croatia
- 7. Czech Republic
- 8. Estonia
- 9. Georgia
- 10. Hungary
- 11. Kazakhstan
- 12. Latvia
- 13. Lithuania
- 14. Macedonia
- 15. Poland
- 16. Romania
- 17. Russia
- 18. Slovakia
- 19. Slovenia
- 20. Turkmenistan
- 21. Ukraine
- 22. Uzbekistan
- 23. Nicaragua
- 24. Bolivia
- 25. Thailand
- 26. Botswana
- 27. Madagascar
- 28. Swaziland
- 29. Djibouti
- 30. Seychelles

- 31. Angola
- 32. Cameroon
- 33. Gambia
- 34. Sri Lanka
- 35. Brazil

Annex 2: list of 23 countries

- 1. DRC
- 2. Ethiopia
- 3. Ghana
- 4. Kenya
- 5. Malawi
- 6. Mozambique
- 7. Nigeria
- 8. Rwanda
- 9. Sierra Leone
- 10. Sudan
- 11. Tanzania
- 12. Uganda
- 13. Zambia
- 14. Zimbabwe
- 15. Afghanistan
- 16. Bangladesh
- 17. India
- 18. Nepal
- 19. Pakistan
- 20. St Helena
- 21. Vietnam
- 22. West Bank and Gaza
- 23. China