LITHUANIAN DEVELOPMENT COOPERATION POLICY ON COUNTRY/SECTOR CONCENTRATION STRATEGIES

According to the "Development Co-operation Policy Guidelines of the Republic of Lithuania for 2006-2010" approved by the Government of the Republic of Lithuania Resolution No 561 of 8 June 2006, Lithuania, taking account of the priorities of the foreign policy and the experience of the relations with its Eastern neighbours, shall co-operate, in particular, with the following regions:

Eastern Europe – the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine;

South Caucasus – the Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Azerbaijan and Georgia.

Lithuania shall also provide assistance to the countries recovering from conflicts, such as the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan and the Republic of Iraq. According to the priorities of the European Union, bilateral and trilateral assistance shall be provided, where possible, to the countries in other regions, in particular, to the poorest African states.

The "Guidelines for Implementation of the Programme of Development Co-operation and Democracy Promotion in 2010" adopted by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs provide for further concentration of bilateral aid in 2010 as follows:

- 1) In the province of Ghor in Afghanistan to the sectors of good governance (strengthening of administrative capacity); social development and health (through creation of preconditions and strengthening human resources) and education.
- 2) In the Republic of Belarus democracy support and independent education.
- 3) In the Republic of Moldova, Georgia and Ukraine good governance (support for institutional capacity building of regional and local authorities), democracy and European integration